Take a Hike!

I recently completed about six months of Christian counseling. My counselor, a sweet older woman who I’ll call M, was passionate about helping me look at my circumstances with fresh eyes and helping me feel confident through the tumultuous changes that occur in a person’s early twenties. She did not have an easy job!

In one session, we discussed appropriate coping mechanisms. M asked me to share what was working for me (as well as what was not working). At that point, winter was fading fast and we were seeing highs in the 70s and 80s. I mentioned that I had been going on walks: around the neighborhood, around the lake, and that I was loving it. M brightened at this. She told me that both the back and forth movement of alternating left foot, right foot, left foot, and moving the body forward help not only to improve creativity and creative thought, but also to relieve anxiety.

Is it any wonder then that I love taking walks and going on hikes with my boyfriend?

Take a Hike with someone you love

J and I at Toccoa Falls

We’ve been dating for almost one year, and we’ve been hiking basically since the beginning. In fact, for our very first date, J took me to the state botanical gardens, which is full of beautiful flowers, plants, and a couple easy hiking trails.

We’ve spent other dates walking the paths of local parks, ambling beside rivers, visiting waterfalls, and climbing mountains of various sizes. I love it. Not only does this give us a chance to try new things together, but it gives us a chance to talk. That’s something a date to the movies just can’t do.

Most of our relationship has been long distance, and unfortunately, there is a lot of stress, fear, and uncertainty that comes with long distance relationships. It’s hard not being able to go for an impromptu ice cream date on a bad day. It’s difficult to make it through challenging situations when Skype dates are as close as you can get. For that reason, I would urge new couples to consider the pros and cons of long distance before signing up for it. On the other hand, being long distance has taught us a lot about communication and has made our time together that much more special.

If you have been in a relationship or a marriage for very long, you’ve realized that sometimes it takes creativity to solve problems and reach compromises. When possible, J and I try to save important conversations for our in-person dates, because we’ve found that when we can walk together, we can come up with more creative ways to work through situations. Just as Steve Jobs brainstormed ideas for Apple while walking, we can brainstorm ideas for our relationship.

A final word about hiking dates: They are usually free! Bring a water bottle, maybe a picnic lunch, and you’re all set. We have been to local city parks, state parks, natural waterfalls, a botanical garden, and even an abandoned railroad tunnel, and very few of them charge for admission.

So go take a hike with someone you love!


This post has been submitted to the Summer Date Ideas blog round-up by Susannah Kellogg at Simple Moments Stick.

One thought on “Take a Hike!

  1. This one of my favorite things to do also. Nothing like being outdoors and exercising with someone you enjoy being with. From Summer Date Nights link up at Simple Moments Stick.

    Like

Leave a Reply

