After the Altar: Saving Money as Newlyweds

In case you missed it, my “After the Altar” series on saving money as newlyweds concluded last week. You see all the posts below. I hope this series was encouraging to you, whether a newlywed, a single person, or a more-experienced married person.

How to Save Money and Live Frugally as Newlyweds at Grace Upon Grace Blog

Since money is one of the biggest reasons that couples divorce, I wanted to deal with it quickly, both on my blog and in my own marriage. What are some other issues that you have faced in your own marriage? I would love to continue exploring how to make marriages (especially new ones) even better. Please comment below with suggestions or contact me here.

After the Altar Series Recap

Part One: 6 Things We Just Don’t Buy

Part Two: 4 Things We DO Buy

Part Three: 4 Things I’d Like to Stop Buying

Part Four: 3 Ways We Make a Little Extra Income

Don’t forget to check out my Facebook page and Pinterest profile!

How to Save Money and Live Frugally as Newlyweds at Grace Upon Grace Blog

21 thoughts on “After the Altar: Saving Money as Newlyweds

  1. Carrie Willard says:

    This is a great series. It’s so easy to spend too much money trying to re-create the homes that we as young adults left. Our parents had decades to buy furniture and establish themselves, but many young people want all that stuff immediately, so they get deep in debt to Rooms to Go and all that.

    Like

    • You are absolutely right. My parents just remodeled their entire living room. Mine looks shabby by comparison – but then I remember that I have plenty of time to decorate my home the way I’d like to. (And I’ll have more money to decorate it with if I save now!)

      Like

  2. Amber says:

    Yes, it is SO important to save. When my husband and I were married we had very little money and we just started to save what we could. Now we have a comfortable savings account should anything happen.

    Like

  3. It’s a great series. In my marriage, I’m the one who tries to save, while my husband is the one who likes to spend! But we don’t argue much about money, we found a good balance:)

    Like

  4. Jo (Fallen Angel) says:

    My husband and I try to be good about only buying things we really need and questioning big purchases. Inevitably there are things we buy because we want them, but we try not to be irresponsible with money!

    Like

  5. What a great idea for a post series – both so that you can solidify your thoughts and how you want to go forward in your marriage, and also so that you can share what works for you with others. It’s good that you’re thinking about it right from the get-go.

    Like

    • Karen O'Connor says:

      We had that same conversation with our minister. We were warned when one person comes to the marriage with significantly more assets, they may use that imbalance to control family decisions, having a vote that ultimately weighs more than one’s partner.

      Like

  6. We have been married for 21 years. I am the spender, he is the saver. I am 8 years older and well, he’s not. I’ll just say those 8 years make a big difference when you are thinking about retirement that have made for some very interesting conversations.

    Like

  7. Great series! It’s so important to get on the same page with money as a couple! We finally got our act together in 2011 after taking Financial Peace University and it was life changing for us! Since taking the class, we’ve paid off all of our debt besides our home and have built up a 6 month emergency fund as well as have started to invest more than we ever have in the past. The best part? We actually have monthly budgeting meetings twice a month (each payday) to go over our money and planning!

    Like

  8. That is an awesome series idea! And so incredibly needed! My husband and I are so bad with money and we can use all the reminders available to us to do a better job. We tend to eat out a lot which is our main money issue.

    Like

  9. True most marriages end on money issues. Therefore simple weddings are a start. Couples do need to put luxury aside and focus on basic necessities as newly weds. A humble lifestyle and proper budgeting can help to cope with financial emergencies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

